Applied filters
Applied filters

Fayette County Commissioner

705 7 Th St SE, Fayette, AL

Phone: 205-932-2362

Martin County Commissioner

2401 SE Monterey Rd, Stuart, FL

Phone: 772-288-5420

Nassau County Commissioner

37356 Pea Farm Rd, Hilliard, FL

Phone: 904-845-3619

Palatka Commissioner

410 Saint Johns Ave, Palatka, FL

Phone: 386-329-0205

Palm Beach County Commissioner

345 S Congress Ave, Delray Beach, FL

Phone: 561-276-1260

Pinellas County Commissioner

315 Court St, Clearwater, FL

Phone: 727-464-3276

Stuart City Commissioner

121 SW Flagler Ave, Stuart, FL

Phone: 772-288-5312

Tallahassee Commissioner

300 S Adams St, Tallahassee, FL

Phone: 850-891-8181
Fax: 630-858-2805

Fannin County Commissioner

400 W Main St, Blue Ridge, GA

Phone: 706-632-2203
Fax: 706-632-2507

Gilmer County Commissioner

Ste 106, 1 Broad St, GA

Phone: 706-635-4361
Fax: 706-635-4792
Loading ...

Thank you for trying AMP!

You got lucky! We have no ad to show to you!

Hart County Commissioner

800 Chandler St, Hartwell, GA

Phone: 706-376-2024

Johnson County Commissioner

515 W Elm St, Wrightsville, GA

Phone: 478-864-3388
Fax: 478-864-4004

Lee County Commissioner

110 Starksville Ave N, Leesburg, GA

Phone: 229-759-6000

Cook County Commissioner

3801 W Lk Ave, Glenview, IL

Phone: 847-729-9300
Fax: 847-729-2279

Illinois State Commissioner

527 E Capitol Ave, Springfield, IL

Phone: 217-782-7701

Scott County Commissioner

35 E Market St, Winchester, IL

Phone: 217-742-5532

Lake County Commissioner

232 Russell St, Hammond, IN

Phone: 219-931-3440

Porter County Commissioner

427 E Furness Rd, Michigan, IN

Phone: 219-879-5664

Lemhi County Commissioner

210 Neyman St, Salmon, ID

Phone: 208-756-6915

Shoshone County Commissioner

700 Bank St, Wallace, ID

Phone: 208-752-3331
Loading ...

Thank you for trying AMP!

You got lucky! We have no ad to show to you!

Twin Falls Commissioner

425 Shoshone St N, Twin Falls, ID

Phone: 208-736-4068
Fax: 208-736-4176

Middlesex County Commissioner

40 Thorndike St, Cambridge, MA

Phone: 617-494-4140

Maine State Commissioner

25 Tyson Dr, Augusta, ME

Phone: 207-287-4360

Cecil County Commissioner

200 Chesapeake Boulevard, Elkton, MD

Phone: 410-658-4041

Charleston Commissioner

241 Market St, Charlestown, MD

Phone: 410-287-6173

Leonardtown Commissioner

41660 Court House Dr, Leonardtown, MD

Phone: 301-475-9791

Oxford Town Commissioner

101 Market St, Oxford, MD

Phone: 410-226-5122
Fax: 410-226-5597

Preston Town Commissioner

105 Back Landing Rd, Preston, MD

Phone: 410-673-7929

Adair County Commissioner

106 W Washington St, Kirksville, MO

Phone: 660-665-2283

Missouri State Commissioner

201 W Capitol Ave, Jefferson, MO

Phone: 573-751-1851
Loading ...

Thank you for trying AMP!

You got lucky! We have no ad to show to you!

Newton County Commissioner

101 S Wood St, Neosho, MO

Phone: 417-451-8223

St Louis Commissioner

300 N Tucker Blvd, St. Louis, MO

Phone: 314-622-4336
Fax: 314-622-3587

Texas County Commissioner

Ste 101, 210 N Grand Ave, MO

Phone: 417-967-3222
Fax: 417-967-3837

Wright County Commissioner

125 Court Sq, Hartville, MO

Phone: 417-741-6113

Sheridan County Commissioner

100 W Laurel Ave, Plentywood, MT

Phone: 406-765-1660

Churchill County Commissioner

3975 Reno Highway, Fallon, NV

Phone: 775-867-3975

Lander County Commissioner

122 Main St, Austin, NV

Phone: 775-964-2380

Fayette County Commissioner

133 S Main St, Washington Court House, OH

Phone: 740-335-0720

Hancock County Commissioner

300 S Main St, Findlay, OH

Phone: 419-424-7044

Harrison County Commissioner

100 W Market St, Cadiz, OH

Phone: 740-942-4623
Loading ...

Thank you for trying AMP!

You got lucky! We have no ad to show to you!

About Commissioners

The board of commissioners is the oldest form of county government in the US and is still very common. In a county commission form of government, a body of elected commissioners serves both the executive and the legislative duties, meaning they enact local ordinances and administer them. They approve budgets, oversee spending and hire county employees. The commission usually consists of three to five officials. In some states, they are known as supervisors.

The commissioners are responsible to the voters, but their duties are defined and controlled by the state constitution and state statutes. Their actions can be overturned by state courts. Some department heads, such as sheriff, clerk, treasurer and coroner, are elected rather than appointed by the commissioners.

When many counties were still rural, the duties of the board of commissioners were limited. They kept vital records, assessed property, administered elections and maintained roads. With the spread of suburbs, many counties grew in population and began offering a far wider range of services. It is not unusual today for a board of commissioners to oversee consumer protection, economic development, planning, environmental quality and social welfare programs.

Other duties that the board of commissioners may be responsible for or oversee include:

Issuing bonds Managing county parks Collecting and disposing of trash Managing pensions for county employees Assuring water quality Administering courts and jails Collecting property and sales taxes

In recent decades, government reform movements have criticized the commission form of county government for not having a single chief executive in charge. Some counties have moved to one of two related forms of government in an effort to solve the issue:

Commission-administrator: The elected commissioners appoint a separate professional administrator who carries out policies, hires and fires employees, and prepares a budget for the commission's approval. Council-executive: Voters elect one person as county executive along with a council that serves as the county legislative body. In some areas, the executive can veto laws enacted by the council and exercise other executive powers.